Eastern Delaware County Municipalities Join Together to Better Control Stormwater and Comply with Stormwater Permit Requirments

Posted by   on: December 7th, 2011

Eastern Delware County Stormwater Colaborative Members

On Thursday, December 1, 2011, Eastern Delaware County municipalities celebrated an exciting milestone.  The Boroughs of Collingdale, Sharon Hill, Yeadon and Upper Darby Township were recognized for signing on Eastern Delaware County Stormwater Collaborative Inter-governmental Agreement.  Elected Officials formally adopted the agreement at public meetings in November.  The four municipalities were recognized by the Southeastern PA Resource Conservation and Development(RC&D) Council, Project Sponsor, the County and other partners for their joint initiative across municipal boundaries to manage stormwater and comply with Pennsylvania’s stormwater permit requirements.

The Collaborative municipalities will be able to more efficiently and economically address stormwater problems and comply with DEP stormwater permit requirements.  Through this partnership, the four municipalities will work together to conduct required training programs for municipal staff and contractors, host education and outreach events, enlist involvement from residents and other constituents, take advantage of economies of scale for educational publications and other permit related activities.

Collectively, these practices and programs will help prevent water pollution and protect streams like the Darby Creek from Degradation that can result from uncontrolled and polluted stormwater runoff.  The four municipalities are the first members to sign the agreement and formalize their commitment to work together to undertake regulatory requirements to prevent water pollution in the Darby Creek Watershed.

Southeastern PA RC&D Council has led this effort over several years. The project focused on urbanized communities in Delaware County to formalize joint municipal stormwater management activities.Karen Holm, Southeastern PA RC&D Board Member and Delaware County Planning Department Manager said “I am encouraged by the dedication shown over the many months of working together to prepare and inter-governmental cooperative agreement; it signals readiness among municipalities to work together to more efficiently address the challenges of storm water management.  Starting in 2012, the Collaborative will be well positioned to conduct combined training events and education projects for the four partners.  This collaboration will help member municipalities meet their permit goals and obligations in a more cost -effective manner, avoid inefficiencies that can occur under the municipal permit, and present a more unified and consistent educational messages to communities and constituents.”

Funding for this innovative project has been provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and The William Penn Foundation. The Southeastern PA Resource Conservation and Development Council, a regional nonprofit organization helped organize the collaborative and obtained the grant funding for this unique project. The Delaware County Planning Department and the Delaware County Conservation District have been actively involved in organizing and assisting the Collaborative with assistance and participation from the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection.




About the Author